Declaration of Independence
By Abby

Who: The Continental Congress and delegates from each colony
What: The Declaration of Independence is a historical document in which the colonies declared their freedom from the British. It stated the reasons why the colonists were rejecting the British rule.
When: The Declaration was adopted on July 4, 1779.
Where: This took place in the thirteen colonies.
How: A group of delegates from each of the colonies joined together and held meetings until they decided how to write the declaration, and what they would say.
Why: They were feed up. The colonists were sick of the King taxing them, and they wanted to be free. There is a whole list of grievances, or complaints about the King, listed in the declaration.

"  We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are

created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with

certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness&


Signers of the Declaration:

John Hancock President from Massachusetts.

Button Gwuinnett
Lyman Hall
George Walton

South Carolina
Edward Rutledge
Thomas Heyward, Jr.
Thomas Lynch, Jr.
Arthur Middleton

Samuel Chase
William Paca
Thomas Stone
Charles Carroll

George Wythe
Richard Henry Lee
Thomas Jefferson
Benjamin Harrison
Thomas Nelson Jr.
Francis Lightfoot Lee
Carter Braxton

Robert Morris
Benjamin Rush
Benjamin Franklin
John Morton
George Clymer
James Smith
George Taylor
James Wilson
George Ross

Rhode Island
Stephen Hopkins
William Eller


Caesar Rodney
George Read
Thomas McKean

New York
William Floyd
Philip Livingston
Francis Lewis
Lewis Morris
New Jersey
Richard Stockton
John Witherspon
Francis Hopkinson
John Hart
Abraham Clark
New Hampshire
Josiah Barlett
William Whipple
Matthew Thronton

Samuel Adams
John Adams
Robert Treat Paine

Elbridge Gerry

Samuel Huntington
William Williams
Oliver Wolcott
Roger Sherman

North Carolina
William Hooper
Joseph Hewes
John Penn

Back to home page