5 Acts Total
Who? The British Parliament - King George was named Lieutenant General Thomas Gage, the commander in chief of British forces!
What? Parliament passed a series of laws known as the Intolerable Acts. One of the acts closed the port of Boston until payment was made for the tea. Another act is that British officials were accused of a crime and were to be tried in English rather that American courts. Still another act provided that the British troops would be able to live in any town in Massachusetts-even in private homes. Last, the British can be able to change the government, so you have fewer rights to your self-government.
When? On 1774, during March, Parliament passed  laws to restrict the colonies.
Where? In England and in the 13 Colonies.
How? The forced British troops into the 13 Colonies and tried their hardest to have them obey the commands. America wanted to fight back even more.
Why? The British made up the Coercive Acts, but the Colonists didnt like that name so they changed it to the Intolerable Acts. Made to restrict the Americans.


Martin, James Kirby. "Revolutionary War in America." World Book Online Reference Center. 2007. Internet. January 11, 2007 <http://www.worldbookonline.com/wb/Article?id=ar466820>.

"Coercive Acts Imposed By British 1774." Coercive Acts Imposed By British 1774. 11 Jan 2007 <http://www.multied.com/Revolt/coercive2.html>.

Donald A., Ritchie. American History - The Early Years To 1877. New York City: Glencoe, 1997.


Home                                                                   Results of the War
Townshend Acts                                     Declaration of Independence
Boston Tea Party                                                               Stamp Acts