Intolerable Acts

The Intolerable Acts (also called the Coercive Acts) were a series of acts imposed by the British. They were imposed because the colonists of the land were protesting against the British. The British, believing they were losing their grip on the colonies, which, in their opinion, should be maintained at all costs. There were five acts in all, and 4 of the laws were to punish the people of Massachusetts for the Boston Tea Party. The people, who believed that they were justified in performing the Boston Tea party, didn't like these laws. These acts were a major part in the American Revolution, as they took away some of the basic necessities and wants that people in the colonies needed or wanted.

 If you want to find out more about the Intolerable Acts, look no further! I have included some
additional facts about this series of acts imposed by the British below.
The first act closed the port of Boston until damages caused by the Boston Tea Party were repaid
It was believed that the fifth act was also to punish the colonists, but it wasnt

The second act stated that any British officer or soldier arrested for murder could be sent to England for a trial

Quartering act-passed on March 24, 1765

  It said that if a soldier came to a house and asked to stay, the people had to comply

The third act was called the Massachusetts Government Act. It made a council have to be appointed by the British government. It also made town meetings prohibited except for to elect officers

Boston port act-passed on June 1, 1774

The fourth act forced the colonists to quarter soldiers

Administration of Justice Act- May 20, 1774

The fifth act was called the Quebec act. It was passed on May 20, 1774. It moved the province of Quebec south to the Ohio River. It also granted freedom of worship to Roman Catholics in the area.

Massachusetts Government Act- May 20, 1774

Back To Homepage